2004 Ethics competition winners

Three teams of Space Coast high school students won scholarships and financial awards in the Florida Tech School of Management 8th annual high school
ethics competition held on March 5, 2004. The winning teams were Merritt Island High, first place, coached by Scarlett Davidson; Melbourne High School,
second place, coached by Diane Grover; and Cocoa Beach High School, third place, coached by Georgann Savage. The event is sponsored by Community Educators
Credit Union. Other teams participating in the competition were from Astronaut High School, Bayside High School, Eau Gallie High School, Melbourne Central
Catholic, Palm Bay High School, Satellite High School, and St. Edwards School in Vero Beach. First place Merritt Island High School team members were Julie
Wetmore, Cody Newmire, Amy Wenrich and Becky Bump. Each student won $500 and an $8,000 per year scholarship to the Florida Tech School of Management.
Second place Melbourne High School team members were Keri Smith, David Davis, Parisa Rassoul and Seth Dwyer. Each student won $250 and a $6,000 per year
scholarship to the Florida Tech School of Management. Third place Cocoa Beach High School team members were Gregory Marquino, Serge Reshetnikov, Hailey
Loomis and Shawn Hamm. Each student won $125.00. All the participants received a School of Management/Community Educators Credit Union ethics competition
tee-shirt. The competition was divided into two sessions. All teams competed in the morning, presenting their analyses of the ethical issues in the “James
Burke: A Career in American Business” case study which described Johnson and Johnson’s response to deadly tampering with Tylenol tablets. The teams
received advance copies of this case to analyze prior to the competition. Three teams were chosen by the judges as finalists to compete in the afternoon
portion of the competition. For that they were asked to analyze “The Parable of the Sadhu,” a case that posed the question, “How can an individual exercise
his ethical responsibilities in a group environment?” Teams were given one hour to review the case and develop their thirty-minute presentations to the
judges. For this final competition, the teams had no prior information about the case. The judges based their decisions on the merits of the teams’
analyses, teamwork, and responses to questions posed by the judges about the case. Judges for the competition were: Scott Baker, branch manager, Community
Educators Credit Union Dick Ballantyne, vice president, general counsel and secretary, Harris Corporation Betty Binford, P/A Solutions, Inc., former ethics
officer at Lockheed Martin Isabella Bunn, Attorney at Law, Oxford University, UK Gene Cavallucci, vice president, counsel, Harris Corporation Alan Doshier,
sector vice president, Northrop Grumman Corporation Stephen Feldman, president, Astronauts Memorial Foundation Judith Fox, corporate compliance officer,
Health First, Inc. John Glisch, editorial page editor, Florida Today Tanja Glynn, Rockwell Collins and School of Management alumna Dudley J. Gordon,
Brigadier General, USA (retired) and former director of industry education programs at Florida Tech Michael Gordon, Intersil Corporation and School of
Management alumnus Barry Kronman, MD retired and theologian Tim LaMunyon, director of finance, The Boeing Company John Luhn, Lifestyle Homes Michael Means,
president and CEO, Health First, Inc. Bruce Melnick, vice president and senior site executive, The Boeing Company Patrick O’Grady, ethics officer, Northrop
Grumman Adrienne Roth, publisher, Brevard Business News George Sammett, Lt. General, US Army retired Dixie Sansom, director government relations and public
affairs, Canaveral Port Authority Julie Story, city president, Sun Trust Brevard. Among the guests were Florida Tech president Anthony Catanese; Mary Le
Strange, admissions counselor; Kathleen Gotshall, assistant principal, Melbourne Central Catholic; and Paul Parker, representing Cocoa High School.

Show More
Back to top button