Day One of the NCAA Women’s Rowing National Championships Gets Underway

OAK RIDGE, Tenn. – The 2007 NCAA Women’s Rowing National Championships began today with all three Divisions I, II & III competing in the first round
heats at the Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. The University of Tennessee, Knoxville will serve as host for the championships, which will continue
through May 27th. Beginning Follow all the action with LIVE VIDEO from the site,
and the Official Results Page for complete tournament coverage. The Panthers took 3rd in the first
heat of the Division II Rowing Eight boat heading to the repechage to compete for one of the remaining spots in the grand finale race.

The team championship is comprised of four teams, and each team is required to field one boat of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. The teams
selected were: Dowling, UC San Diego, Nova Southeastern and Western Washington. In addition, two at-large Eights from institutions not represented in the
team competition were selected. The two schools selected were: Florida Tech and Seattle Pacific.

In the first Division II WV8+ heat of the morning Florida Tech competed against Dowling and UC San Diego with Dowling earning the first bid to the grand
finale with a time of 7:00.92, UC San Diego finished 2nd with a time of 7:03.64, with Tech finishing 3rd with a time of 7:32.17. UC San Diego and Tech head
to the repechage on Saturday.

In the second Division II WV8+ heat Western Washington took 1st to advance straight to the grand finale race with a time of 7:03.80. Sunshine State
Conference WV8t boat Nova Southeastern who finished 2nd 7:23.35 and Seattle Pacific who finished 3rd 7:45.60 also will compete in the repachage.

The WV8+ is assembled by coxswain Morgan Tweedie (Osprey, Fla.) stroke seat by Laurel Borgias (Spokane, Wash.), seven seat Mikki Devaux (Gros-Islet, St.
Lucia), sixth seat by Rachel Purvis (Brockville, Ontario), fifth seat by Amanda Saeger (Des Plaines, Ill.), fourth seat by Safia Tappan (Sarasota, Fla.),
third seat by Sam Roman (Jacksonville, Fla.), second seat by Skibski (Tolland, Mass.), and in the bow seat is Jennifer Johnson (Portland, Oregon).

The repachage consists of four WV8+ boats Florida Tech, UC San Diego, NSU, and Seattle Pacific. Teams placing 1st and 2nd will head to the grand finale
race for 1st through 4th place while the 3rd and 4th place teams will compete for 5th and 6th place in the WV8+ petite final; both races are scheduled for
Sunday morning.

Check out all NCAA Women’s Rowing Championship information at
with live official results updates and live coverage from the Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge.

Show More
Back to top button