Delta Mu Delta Honors Wall, Hermansen

MELBOURNE, FLA.—The Florida Institute of Technology College of Business Epsilon Eta Chapter of Delta Mu Delta inducted 14 undergraduates and two graduate business students at the 22nd Annual Banquet and Induction Ceremony April 24. The event was held on campus. Delta Mu Delta is the national honor society in business administration.

Named as 2009 Outstanding Business Leaders and honorary inductees at the ceremony were community leaders Barbara Wall and Bjornar Hermansen. Both are longtime supporters of the College of Business and the university.

Wall, president of Prudential Sterling Properties in Indian Harbour Beach, also writes a weekly column on real estate for Florida Today. She is past president of the Melbourne Association of Realtors and past district vice president of the Florida Association of Realtors. Wall is also chair of the executive board of Florida Tech’s Women’s Business Center. She has been on the Eau Gallie Yacht Club Board of Governors since 2002.

Hermansen is president of Hermansen Family Enterprises Ltd. Through this enterprise he owns and participates in several businesses in Brevard County. These include three hotels—the Hampton Inn and Marriott Courtyard in Cocoa Beach and the Residence Inn by Marriott in Cape Canaveral; the 165,000 square-foot United Space Alliance building that houses the Space Shuttle spare parts and repair facility; and the new Prime Bank of Florida on Wickham Road in Melbourne. In his previous career, Hermansen was the co-founder and president of Premier Cruise Lines Ltd. 

Many College of Business donors were also honored at the event. They include the Lansing Gleason family, Kent and Steve Mergler, Bill and Wendy Potter, Mike and Patricia Scafati, Steve Freeman, Alan and Sharon Smith and Phyllis Long.

Undergraduate students inducted were Matthew Belew, Michael Bluestein, Albien Eres, Tracey Frett, Jeffrey Madenford, Pericles Maranhao, Stacey O’Hara, Dwight Pate, Omar Raheem, Mary Renfro, Daniel Rizzi, Kevin Sklenicka, Marissa Weselak and Patrick Whelan. Inducted graduate students were Jyoti Kulkarni and John Scott.

Undergraduate and graduate students must be in the upper 20 percent of their class to be eligible for Delta Mu Delta.

Delta Mu Delta was founded as a national organization in 1913 to provide recognition to outstanding students of business administration. Today there are more than 200 chapters of the society across the country and one international chapter. Among the several hundred thousand students who receive bachelor’s or master’s degrees in business each year, only about 5,000 students are elected annually to membership in the society.

Show More
Back to top button