Florida Tech Named #5 Seed in 2006 Women’s Soccer Tournament

ORLANDO, Fla. (women’s soccer) Pairings have been set for the quarterfinal round of the 2006 Sunshine State Conference Women’s Soccer Championship which will begin on Wednesday, October 25
at two different campus sites.

In the women’s championship bracket, regular-season champion University of Tampa has earned the #1 seed, by virtue of winning the school’s second
consecutive SSC championship in women’s soccer. Ranked eighth in the latest National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Division II women’s
poll, the Spartans will receive a quarterfinal-round bye, and will host the winner of Wednesday’s match between #4 Rollins and #5 Florida Tech on Friday,
October 27.

Saint Leo University has earned the #2 seed on the women’s side. The 18th-ranked Lions will also receive a quarterfinal-round bye and will meet the winner
of Wednesday’s match between #3 Nova Southeastern and #6 Lynn. Saint Leo’s first match will be played Friday at the site of the SSC final four.
Winners of Wednesday’s quarterfinal-round women’s matches will advance to the SSC final fours, which begins with semifinal games on Friday and concludes
with championship matches next Sunday. All women’s final four matches will be hosted by the University of Tampa.

Wednesday, October 25 • Quarterfinals
Each Match Hosted by Higher Seed

#6 Lynn at #3 Nova Southeastern — 7:00 p.m.
#5 Florida Tech at #4 Rollins – 7:00 p.m.

Friday, October 27 • Semifinals
Hosted by the University of Tampa

Women’s 3-6 winner vs. #2 Saint Leo — 4:30 p.m.
Women’s 4-5 winner at #1 Tampa — 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 29 • Finals
Hosted by the University of Tampa

Women’s Championship Game • Semifinal Winners – 1:00 p.m.

The complete news release can be downloaded in PDF format from the SSC website at: http://www.sunshinestateconference.com/0607/wsoctourn06.pdf. 

To View the SSC Standings:

To Download the Current Bracket:

Show More
Back to top button