Florida Tech Sports Hall of Fame Welcomes Four New Members at Jan. 27 Ceremony

Keiran Breslin, Lynisha Nelson, Justin Sedlak,
and Trustee Bill Potter to be Inducted 

MELBOURNE, Fla. – Three former student-athletes and one longtime member of Florida Institute of Technology’s Board of Trustees will be inducted into the university’s Sports Hall of Fame at the Class of 2018 ceremony on Saturday, Jan. 27, at the Hartley Room on the second floor of the Denius Student Center.

This Hall will welcome three former student-athletes who brought distinction, honor and excellence to the athletic department, as well as one individual whose merit and leadership helped advance Florida Tech athletics to its current state of excellence .

The class consists of Keiran Breslin ’93 (men’s soccer), Lynisha Nelson ’11 (women’s basketball), Justin Sedlak ’11 (men’s basketball), and Florida Tech Board of Trustees member William Potter (Special Achievement), who has served on the board since 1982.

The festivities will commence at 6 p.m. with a cocktail reception followed by dinner and ceremony beginning at 7 p.m.

The Florida Tech Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1986 to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to Florida Tech Athletics. Jeanne Flanagan was the first inductee. Flanagan, a former Olympian, has set a high standard for all honorees who have followed her footsteps into the Hall. A member of Team USA’s varsity eight rowing team, she helped the United States capture its first gold medal in the event at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, Calif.

Other notable Hall of Fame members include retired Major League Baseball pitcher Tim Wakefield, also a member of Florida Tech’s Board of Trustees, professional golfer Daniela Iacobelli, and Florida Tech President Emeritus Anthony J. Catanese.

Athletes, coaches, trainers, or any others who have made outstanding contributions to athletics at Florida Tech are eligible for nomination. An athlete can be nominated five years after receiving his or her undergraduate degree. A person who has not qualified for a degree can be nominated only upon approval of the selection committee.

The Florida Tech Sports Hall of Fame is located inside the Clemente Center.

Tickets to the Jan. 27 ceremony are $50 per person and available by contacting Alyssa Carney at acarney@fit.edu. Deadline to reserve seats is Jan. 12.


Show More
Back to top button