Honor for Dale Dettmer, Kathy Meehan and More at Homecoming 2011 Banquet Nov. 5

MELBOURNE, FLA.—Florida Institute of Technology will honor several alumni high achievers at the 2011 Homecoming Banquet on Saturday, Nov. 5. The evening starts with a cocktail hour at 6 p.m., followed by an awards dinner at 7 p.m. in the university’s Charles and Ruth Clemente Center for Sports and Recreation. There will be dancing and music at the Clemente Center following the dinner, with Homecoming’s “Hollywood Nights” theme.

Dale A. Dettmer ’71 M.S., Florida Tech trustee and partner in the law firm of Krasny and Dettmer, will receive the inaugural Jerome P. Keuper Distinguished Alumni Award.

“We sought to institute an award that reflects the evolution of Florida Tech and, which honors an alumnus who embodies all that is good about the university. This must be someone who is in a successful career, known for community involvement and who gives back to the university,” said Bino Campanini, assistant vice president, alumni relations and executive director of the Alumni Association. “Dale Dettmer is an ideal example of such a person.”

Dettmer earned his bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Purdue University, master’s degree in electrical engineering from Florida Tech and a juris doctorate with honors from the University of Florida. He is a member of the UF Law Review and chairman of the Florida Tech Board of Trustees.

Additionally, each of the university’s five college deans has nominated one person for an Outstanding Alumnus Award from their respective colleges.

Recipients will be: College of Science, Michael Sole ‘86, former head of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) and currently vice president of government affairs at Florida Power & Light (FP&L); College of Psychology and Liberal Arts, Kathy Meehan ‘92, manager, Meehan’s Office Products and vice mayor of the City of Melbourne; College of Engineering, Amvrossios “Ross” Bagtzoglou ‘87, head of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, University of Connecticut; and from the Nathan M. Bisk College of Business, William G. Roy ’70 M.S., Dow Chemical Corp. retired corporate counsel. The College of Aeronautics has not yet announced its selection.

Florida DEP secretary, 2006-2010, Sole served the department since 1991. He began his career in environmental protection as a biological scientist for the Florida Department of Natural Resources and was a captain in the U.S. Marine Corps. Melbourne community activist Meehan has served on numerous committees and boards, supporting schools, the local police and anti-drug efforts among other causes. Former Florida Tech faculty member Roy served on the Dow Chemical Corp. presidential commission for review of all federal government procurement laws, rules and regulations. He earned his law degree at LaSalle Extension University. Bagtzoglou is internationally recognized for his pioneering work on inverse methods for groundwater pollution source identification. Editor of several academic journals and noted for garnering research funding for the university, he earned a doctoral degree from the University of California, Irvine, in 1990.

“We are very excited about honoring these worthy recipients at our dinner and invite all who wish to congratulate them to come on the 5th and enjoy the festivities,” said Campanini. Banquet tickets are $75 each and table sponsorships are available.

For more information, call (321) 674-7190 or send e-mail to hrosskam@fit.edu.

Show More
Back to top button