Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Inducts 145 in Ceremony

MELBOURNE, FLA.—The Florida Institute of Technology chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi held its second chapter induction ceremonies in April. The university was approved to charter a chapter in fall 2008.

Approximately 145 students, faculty and professional staff members were initiated. The faculty and staff members were Monica Baloga, Rodney Bowers, Ken Droscher, Brian Ehrlich, Sharon Irvin, Cecilia Knoll, Celine Lang, Rodd Newcombe, John Politano, Jr., Leslie L. Savoie, Winston Scott, Julie Shankle, Thomas Waite and Fontaine Wallace.

Carolina Penteado, a junior majoring in mechanical engineering, received the chapter’s first Scholar’s Award of $1,000. The prize is awarded to the student who best illustrates the promise of success, academic achievement, service, leadership experience and career goals.

Randall Alford, the associate provost of Florida Tech’s graduate school and international programs, is the chapter’s president. Other officers are Mary Bonhomme, vice president and president-elect; Deborah Marino, secretary; John Trefry, treasurer; and Robert Taylor, public relations.

The society’s mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Phi Kappa Phi annually inducts more than 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters on more than 300 select college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.

Since its founding, Phi Kappa Phi has initiated more than one million members into its ranks, which comprise the best and brightest professionals and scholars from all academic disciplines.


Show More
Back to top button