Six Faculty Members Earn Development Grants

MELBOURNE, FLA. — Six Florida Tech faculty members have been awarded Faculty Professional Development grants of between $1,055 and $2,500 each. The grants
program provides opportunities for Florida Tech faculty members to enrich teaching and professional development through participation in technology-related
projects and travel. The 2006-2007 recipients are:

• William Gabrenya, associate professor, School of Psychology, $2,375
“Web Portal Mentoring Systems to Support High School Behavioral Science Fair Projects”

• Deborah Carstens, assistant professor, College of Business, $1,300
“Elements of Effective Learning”

• Frank Webbe, professor, College of Psychology and Liberal Arts, $2,500
“Adapting a Handheld Computing Device to Remote Data Collection for Sport-related Concussion Assessment and Management”
– more –

Faculty Development Grants, page 2 of 2.
• Kurt Winkelmann, assistant professor, College of Science, $2,500
“Second Life Virtual Educational Resource (SLIVER)”

• Sen Chiao, assistant professor, College of Engineering, $2,500
“Mobile, Environmental and Weather Observing Netwrok in Central Florida”

• Hans Dorries, instructor, College of Aeronautics, $1,055
“Development of Interactive Content for Scenario Based training in Aviation”

The Academic Information Technology Committee (ACITC) makes the awards after considering proposals in several categories. These categories include
development of on-line course or technology-based instructional materials, participation in information technology-related conferences, on-campus seminars
and guest speakers, and hardware and software purchase.

Show More
Back to top button