Society of Physics Students Named an Outstanding Chapter for Fifth Straight Year

MELBOURNE, FLA. — The national headquarters of the Society of Physics Students, the student organization of the American Institute of Physics, named the
Florida Institute of Technology chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) an “Outstanding Chapter” for the 2007-2008 academic year. This will be the
chapter’s fifth consecutive award within the Southeastern Zone 6.

“To the best of my knowledge, for one SPS chapter among 700 chapters nationwide to win five such awards in a row is unprecedented in any of the zones,”
said Marcus Hohlmann, Ph.D., Florida Tech SPS faculty adviser.

The annual selection of recipients is based on the level of SPS chapter involvement in physics research, public science outreach efforts, SPS programs such
as physics tutoring, community service, hosting and representation at physics meetings and events, and providing social interaction for chapter members.
The fourth largest physics society in the country, about 5,000 students take part in chapter activities each year.

The 2007-2008 officers of the Florida Tech SPS chapter were Pat Malvoso, president; Jan Varada, vice-president; Valerie Rapson, treasurer; and Lauren
Henry, secretary.

Show More
Back to top button