Students Honored for Excellence in Chemistry

MELBOURNE, FLA.—At Florida Institute of Technology’s recent Spring Honors Convocation, Jennifer Mumfrey of Midlothian, Texas, and Michael Lucido of Niagara Falls, N.Y., were named the first recipients of the university’s Dr. J. Clayton Baum Chemistry Award. Named for a current Florida Tech professor, the award recognizes outstanding junior chemistry majors based on academic and research achievements. 

A Student Employee of the Year Award nominee, Mumfrey is a dual major in chemistry and biochemistry. She is using scanning tunneling microscopy for her research on the synthesis and photochemical characterization of anti-parasitic compounds for the treatment of parasitic diseases.

Mumfrey is a member of the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society and was the event vice chair for the Florida Tech Relay for Life committee for the American Cancer Society. She has also been a tutor in the Academic Support Center. Following graduation she intends to pursue a doctoral degree in synthetic organic chemistry and begin a career in drug synthesis at the research and development levels.

Lucido has a dual major in psychology and pre-medical chemistry. At the university he has worked as a laboratory assistant and literature researcher in organic syntheses projects. He is also a member of the College of Science Student Advisory Committee as a chemistry department representative.

Lucido is a member and former treasurer of the Psi Chi National Honor Society and the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society, was treasurer of the Pre-Med Club during his junior year, earned a Distinguished Student Scholar Award in spring 2007, 2008 and 2009 and earned a President’s Award for Campus Service in spring 2009.

The Dr. J. Clayton Baum Chemistry Award was established by friends, students and colleagues of Baum in recognition of his continuing dedication, devotion and service to Florida Tech and the Department of Chemistry. Baum has been with the university since 1979.

PHOTO:  Michael Lucido and Jennifer Mumfrey accept their awards from Michael Babich,
head of the Florida Tech Department of Chemistry.

Show More
Back to top button