Sunshine State Conference Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships to be Hosted by Florida Tech

– The 2005 Sunshine State Conference Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships will be played Thursday, April 21, through Saturday, April 23, in Melbourne,
Fla., with Florida Tech serving as the host institution. Matches will be played at the Fee Avenue Courts and the Jimmy Moore Courts in Melbourne. Sunday,
April 24 will serve as the rain date.

Both the men’s and women’s draws will feature some of the top NCAA Division II teams in the nation. Five of seven SSC men’s teams and five of nine SSC
women’s teams are currently ranked in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s (ITA) top-40 national rankings. On the men’s side, Barry (#3), Lynn
(#4), Rollins (#6), Eckerd (#16) and Florida Southern (#23) are all nationally ranked, while in the women’s division Lynn (#4), Barry (#5), Rollins (#10),
Florida Southern (#16), Nova Southeastern (#35) and Eckerd (#38) all appear in the national poll.

In addition to men’s and women’s teams from those institutions listed above, squads from Florida Tech, Saint Leo University and the University of Tampa
will also compete for the conference championships. All seven SSC men’s teams will participate, while the top eight of nine SSC women’s teams will take to
the hard courts.

SSC tennis teams have captured eight NCAA Division II National Championships, winning four men’s national titles and four women’s titles. The most recent
occurred in 2001, when the Rollins men and the Lynn women each claimed their respective national crowns. Complete tournament seeds and pairings will be
available on the Sunshine State Conference website prior to the start of SSC Tournament play.

Show More
Back to top button