Surf Team Remains #1 in Region; Competes Again Nov. 14

MELBOURNE, FLA.—After placing first in the last competition of the National Scholastic Surfing Association (NSSA), the Florida Institute of Technology’s Surf Team will again take to the beach Nov. 14 in the next NSSA competition at Bethune Beach in New Smyrna, Fla. The Florida Tech Surf Team remains at number one in the NSSA East Coast Collegiate Conference standings. The NSSA is the highest profile amateur competitive surfing association in the United States.

So far this year, the team has competed in two NSSA competitions and at the National Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) Surfing Championships.

At the June 16-19 NSSA national championships in Dana Point, Calif., the team finished eighth overall in the competition; two team members, Sebastian Moreno, team captain, and Justin Ellingham, co-captain, made the semifinals. On Oct. 17, the team placed second in the AAU National Tag-team event in Cocoa Beach, Fla. The Oct. 24 NSSA contest solidified the team’s first-place standing with a first place win.

The Florida Tech Surf Team was organized by Alex Ferencz and Stephanie Kronstadt in Fall 2009. Today, the team includes members Moreno, Ferencz, Ellingham, Frankie Brown, Katie Spagnolo, Pat Brendan, Pat Reily, Ellis White, Kiki Roettger and Samuel Breit. New members are Branden Sewell and Will Cole.

The team also has a club on campus open to those who are interested in learning how to surf or surfing in general. Meetings are held in the Evans Library, room P133, every Tuesday at 8 p.m.

The team is seeking corporate sponsors for next year. For more information, e-mail Alex Ferencz at or Sebastian Moreno at


Show More
Back to top button