Three Members of Florida Tech Board Named Trustees Emeriti

Armstrong, Baney and Hartley Have Served with Distinction       

MELBOURNE, FLA. — Three distinguished members of Florida Institute of Technology’s Board of Trustees have been named Trustees Emeriti.

They are Dr. Raymond Armstrong, Dr. Richard (Dick) Baney and John (Jack) Hartley.

Armstrong was named to the board in 1984. He is the former chief of surgery for Holmes Regional Medical Center and a community leader who over the years has worked with Rotary, the Chamber of Commerce of South Brevard, the American Cancer Society and many other groups and organizations. Prior to his board service, Dr. Armstrong served as an athletic advisor to Florida Tech.

In 2011, Dr. Armstrong pledged generously to support the School of Psychology.

Baney was named to the board in 1986. The retired president of Health First Physicians Inc. and an accomplished specialist in internal medicine, Baney joined with Florida Tech trustees Joseph Flammio and Travis Proctor to help establish Sporting Affair and Chopper Dropper as the primary fundraisers for scholarships for student-athletes.

Hartley was named to the board in 1987. He is a distinguished businessman who was elected CEO of Harris Corporation in 1986 and chairman of the board in 1987. He served as CEO until 1995 and was a member of the Harris board from 1976 until his retirement in 2002. A generous benefactor of Florida Tech, the campus now includes the Hartley Room in the student union building and Hartley Hall in Harris Village. He also worked with former Florida Tech President Lynn Weaver to encourage the Olin Foundation to make its transformational investment in Florida Tech.

Hartley was awarded an honorary degree in 1994.

“These three men together represent nearly a century of experience serving on our Board of Trustees, and we all continue to benefit from their wisdom, vision and deep passion for Florida Tech,” President Dwayne McCay said. “We are indebted to them for their service and thankful they will continue to serve as Trustees Emeriti.”


Show More
Back to top button