15 Teams Compete in High School Business Ethics Competition

MELBOURNE, FLA. — Melbourne High School teams took first, second and third place in the Florida Tech College of Business’ 12th Annual High School Business
Ethics Competition. In the daylong event, held March 7, 15 teams of juniors and seniors from nine Brevard County high schools competed by developing and
analyzing solutions to a business ethics problem.

They focused on the issue of a single mother who missed work time because of a need to balance care for her children with her job.
The event was sponsored by Community Educators Credit Union. Judges for the competition, from a variety of career fields, included many prominent members
of the community.

Diane Grover, a gifted studies teacher at Melbourne High, coached all five of that school’s competing teams, leading three of the teams to top placements.
Melbourne High’s Team C came in first. Members were Rachel Blythe, Megan Hubbard, Jarrett Levy and Jason Panzarino. Team D, with members, Jenifer Collins,
Megan Corsbie, Chelsie Kollmann and Charmaine Oliver, came in second. Members on third-place Team B were Tyler Obarski, Rebecca Coleman, Alissa Carey and
Rachel Lees.

The awards were: $500 per member to the first-place team, $250 per member to the second-place team and $125 per member to the third-place team. Also, each
member of the top team receives an award of a four-year $8,000-per-year scholarship to the College of Business. A four-year $6,000-per-year scholarship to
the College of Business goes to each member of the second-place team. A four-year $4,000-per-year scholarship to the College of Business goes to each
member of the third-place team.

Other participating schools were Bayside, Melbourne Central Catholic, Palm Bay, Astronaut, Merritt Island, Cocoa, Satellite and Cocoa Beach high schools.

Judges were Isabella Bunn, Pat Fuller, Dudley Gordon, Phyllis Long, Rodd Newcombe, Gene McCarthy, George Sammet, Lisa Marie Sanders, Michael Means, Patrick
O’Grady, Adrianne Roth, John Glisch, Tanja Glynn, Judy Roach , Shelly Cooper, Debra Pavalkos, Gene Cavallucci, Steve Feldman, Maxine Nohrr, Fred
Kirschstein and Jack Schluckebier.

Show More
Back to top button