Edgewood Junior/Senior High School #1 in Annual Florida Tech Business Ethics Competition

MELBOURNE, FLA.—The team from Edgewood Junior/Senior High School in Merritt Island, advised by Beth Snyder, took first place in the Florida Institute of Technology Nathan M. Bisk College of Business High School Business Ethics Competition. The 17th annual event was held on March 8.

Rockledge High School, advised by Nan Fleming, took second place; Palm Bay High School, advised by Amy Evans, took third place; and Satellite High School, advised by Joe Scott, came in fourth. All participating students were juniors or seniors.

In the day-long event, 11 teams from nine schools in Brevard County and Lake Brantley High School in Seminole County participated. All the teams developed and analyzed solutions to a business ethics problem involving FOXCONN Technology Group, namely how should an American corporation be responsible for work conditions at its suppliers’ factory?

The top four schools competed again, wrestling with another real ethics problem, using the Great Lakes: Great Decisions case. The teams’ dilemma was to apply ethical critical thinking to whether or not an American corporation should supply a chemical product overseas that was proven to have harmful effects on people’s health as well as the environment – and was actually banned in America.

The event was co-sponsored by Community Credit Union. Judges, from a variety of career fields, included 7 Nathan M. Bisk College of Business Advisory Board members and many prominent members of the community.

“The level of performance of the teams was most outstanding,” said Annie Becker, dean of the Nathan M. Bisk College of Business. “We are also very pleased by the support of our Advisory Board.”

First place Edgewood team members were Lexi Benton, Amanda Hinchman-Dominguez and Andrew Mercadante; second place Rockledge High team members were David Dawson, Sean Kutzner, Elizabeth Loisel and John Wilcox; third place Palm Bay High team members were Ralik Childs, Charlotte Hoyt, Achi Jones, and Kyle Lin; and fourth place Satellite High team members were Sarah Van Sickle, Yasmine Zubi, Sara Jones and Abby Fenton.

The awards were: $500 per member in the first-place team; $250 per member in the second-place team; $125 per member in the third-place team; and $100 per member in the fourth-place team presented by Ms. Debroah Blair of the Community Credit Union.

Also, each member of the top team receives an award of a four-year $8,000-per-year scholarship to Florida Tech. A four-year $6,000-per-year scholarship to Florida Tech goes to each member of the second-place team. A four-year $4,000-per-year scholarship to Florida Tech goes to each member of the third-place team; and a four-year $2,000-per-year scholarship to the university goes to each member of the fourth-place team.

Other participating schools were Cocoa Beach High School, Heritage High School, Melbourne High School, Lake Brantley High School, and West Shore Junior/Senior High School.

Show More
Back to top button