Melbourne High Finishes #1 (and #2) in Business Ethics Competition

MELBOURNE, FLA.—Teams from Melbourne High School took first and
second places in the recent Florida Institute of Technology Nathan M. Bisk College of Business’ 14th Annual High School Business Ethics Competition. Cocoa Beach High School took third place and Bayside High School took fourth place. All participating students were juniors or seniors.

In the day-long event, held March 12, a record-matching 18 teams from Brevard County schools and a St. Edwards School team from Indian River County participated. The teams developed and analyzed solutions to a business ethics problem involving the real-life situation of an objection to putting in windmills for power on Cape Cod. The three finalists competed again, wrestling with another real ethics problem, the issue of styrofoam vs. paper in Big Mac containers.

The event was sponsored by Community Credit Union. Judges, from a variety of career fields, included Nathan M. Bisk College of Business Board of Overseers members and many prominent members of the community.

Diane Grover, a Melbourne High School teacher, coached the first-place team, which included Bryan Levy, Bobby Simon, Lindsey Walker and Kelly Colomberti as well as the second-place team from Melbourne High, made up of Anya Petrova, Kevin Beaugez, Corey Jones and Aynsley Wolk. The Cocoa Beach High third-place team adviser was teacher Georgann Savage who coached Bernie Clevens, Anna Quincy, Jeff Heyes and T. J. Clark. Coaching the fourth-place Bayside team of Nayr Santana, Brittany Fredrick, Johnnie Hicks and Jessica Berthoff, were Stacey Moore and Ken Johnson.

The awards were: $500 per member to the first-place team; $250 per member to the second-place team; $125 per member to the third-place team; and $100 per member to the fourth-place team.

Also, each member of the top team receives an award of a four-year $8,000-per-year scholarship to Florida Tech. A four-year $6,000-per-year scholarship to Florida Tech goes to each member of the second-place team. A four-year $4,000-per-year scholarship to Florida Tech goes to each member of the third-place team; and a four-year $2,000-per-year scholarship to the university goes to each member of the fourth-place team.

Other participating schools were Cocoa High School, Melbourne Central Catholic High School, Merritt Island High School, Palm Bay High School, Satellite High School; and Edgewood and West Shore Junior/Senior High Schools.

Show More
Back to top button