Seven Florida Tech Faculty Members Earn Development Grants

MELBOURNE, FLA.—Seven Florida Institute of Technology faculty members have been awarded annual Faculty Professional Development Grants ranging from $1,000 to $2,500 each for their technology and student support proposals. There were 26 applicants this year.

Each year, Florida Tech’s Academic Information Technology Committee (ACITC) grants program provides opportunities for Florida Tech faculty and staff to enrich their teaching and professional development through participation in technology-related projects and travel. The 2013 recipients are:

Mark Harvey, College of Psychology and Liberal Arts: “Tablet Online Observational Learning Systems (TOOLS)”

Steven Jachec, College of Engineering: “Human Powered Submarine”

Andrew Palmer, College of Science: “Developing an Interactive Teaching Laboratory”

Ted Petersen, College of Psychology and Liberal Arts: “Video Training to Enhance the Multi-Platform Communication Concentration”

Prasanta Sahoo, College of Engineering: “Further Development of Resistance Prediction Programs for High-speed Marine Vehicles”

Abram Walton, Nathan M. Bisk College of Business: “Nathan M. Bisk College of Business Graduate Online Video Repository”

Kurt Winkelmann, College of Science: “Using Motion-sensors for Video Games to Build an Interactive Virtual Chemistry Lab Experiment”

Recipients were primarily selected for the degree of integration of technology-based instructional materials, project innovation, interdisciplinary collaboration and student participation. The awarded grants represent a diverse constituency across all academic programs.

Show More
Back to top button