Ten Brevard County Graduates Win Rotary/FIT Scholarships

MELBOURNE, FLA.—Ten Brevard County high school graduates were recently awarded first-year scholarships to attend the Florida Institute of Technology. The students were honored in May at a weekly luncheon meeting of the Rotary Club of Indialantic at the Eau Gallie Yacht Club.
Each student gave an introduction and answered questions about their majors, interests and community service.

Recipients included Alyssa Marcoux, Merritt Island High School; Max Fischer, Edgewood High School; Margret Eyjolfsdottir, Melbourne High School; Brynne Michelman-Schmaling, Rockledge High School; Lindsey Barrett, Bayside High School; Caitlin Bigelow, Astronaut High School; Tyler Johnson, Merritt Island High School; Lidia Potapova, Bayside High School; Ember-Leigh Wells, Melbourne High School; and Thomas Kearns, West Shore Junior/Senior High School.

The scholarship funds are generated each year from a long-standing partnership between the Rotary Club of Indialantic and Florida Tech. The Rotary Club of Indialantic, in collaboration with Florida Institute of Technology, hosts the Annual Moon River Music & Magic. The most recent fundraiser for students entering college took place in April. The scholarship program focuses on retaining Brevard’s best and brightest to pursue higher education at Florida Tech.

“I look forward to this event each year. It is always a very pleasant evening, but it’s especially a fine opportunity to support these bright young students,” said Florida Tech President and CEO Anthony J. Catanese.

Show More
Back to top button