Florida Tech Announces 2007-2008 Partnerships with Area Science Teachers

MELBOURNE, FLA. — The Florida Tech Department of Biological Sciences announces
the selection of the 2007-2008 InSTEP (Integrated Science Teacher Enhancement Partnership) graduate teaching fellows and partner teachers. The fellows,
Florida Tech graduate students, are matched with teachers from Brevard County senior high schools to develop new instructional materials to support and
enhance inquiry-based instruction.
The 2007-2008 graduate teaching fellows are Lisa Johnson, Julie Medina and Nicole Sublette of the Florida Tech Department of Biological Sciences, and
Rebecca Medvecky, Jaclyn Shafer and Holly Sweat of the Florida Tech Department of Marine and Environmental Systems.
The partner teachers are Kathlean Gilio, biology, John Krehbiel, physics, and Gabrielle Powers, chemistry and biology, West Shore Jr./Sr. High School;
Ellen Muse, biology, Bayside High School; Emily Torlak, integrated science and biology, Eau Gallie High School; and Nancy Yates, integrated science and
science research, Titusville High School.
The fellowship experience begins in early August with a workshop. InSTEP is funded by a $1.7 million grant to Florida Tech from the National Science
Foundation. Richard Tankersley, professor of biological sciences, and John Windsor, professor of marine and environmental systems, serve as co-project
For more information, contact Jennifer Hanselman, InSTEP coordinator, at (321) 674-7989.

Show More
Back to top button