Glicksman Appointed Dean of Florida Tech College of Engineering

MELBOURNE, FLA. — Noted materials scientist and metallurgist Martin E. Glicksman was appointed Dean of the College of Engineering at Florida Institute of Technology. He held the position on an interim basis since January. Dean Glicksman also serves as the Allen S. Henry Chair and University Professor of Engineering.

“After an extensive search, we were pleased to find that the best candidate for the position was already here,” said T. Dwayne McCay, executive vice president and chief operating officer. “We look forward to his continued leadership of the College of Engineering.”

Glicksman, who joined the Florida Tech faculty in 2011, is a recognized expert on the solidification of metals and semiconductors, atomic diffusion processes, the energetics and kinetics of material interfaces and microstructure evolution. He graduated from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute with a bachelor’s degree and a doctoral degree in physical metallurgy. The National Academy of Sciences selected him as a postdoctoral associate in metal physics at the Naval Research Laboratory, where he subsequently served as Research Metallurgist, Head, Transformations and Kinetics Branch, and as Associate Superintendent of NRL’s Solid-State Division. Glicksman then joined the faculty of Rensselaer in 1975 as Chair, Materials Science and Engineering Department, and in 1986 was selected as the first John Tod Horton Professor of Engineering. In 2006, he was appointed as a Florida 21st Century Scholar at the University of Florida.

“The opportunity to help guide the College of Engineering at this point in Florida Tech’s history is both exciting and challenging, as the impact of engineering and engineers on U.S. society has never been greater or more critical to our nation’s future,” said Dean Glicksman.

Dean Glicksman has co-authored more than 300 technical papers, reviews and monographs, and written two major textbooks: Diffusion in Solids, and Principles of Solidification. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and recently served as chair of their Materials Engineering Section. He is also a Fellow of the Metallurgical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics, and the American Society for Metals. He held visiting professorships in the United States, Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Israel, Greece and Brazil. In 2002-2003 he was selected for an Alexander von Humboldt senior research prize, at the Metal Physics Institute, Rhine-Westphalian Technical University, Aachen, Germany. In 2013, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science appointed him as a resident scholar at the Institute for Low Temperature Science, University of Hokkaido, Sapporo, Japan.

Glicksman’s experiments aboard Space Shuttle Columbia led to his receiving NASA’s Award for Technical Excellence and the 1998 National Space Processing Medal. He is also the recipient of ASM’s Rockwell Medal and their 2003 Gold Medal, TMS’s Chalmers Award, Case-Western Reserve’s van Horn Award, and the American Association for Crystal Growth’s National Award. In 2010 he was awarded the Sir Charles Frank Prize of the International Organization for Crystal Growth for his fundamental contributions to crystal growth theory. Dean Glicksman presented the 89th Edward DeMille Campbell Lecture in 2011, and was awarded Honorary Membership in the American Society for Materials International.


Show More
Back to top button