Student Design Projects Recognized at Showcase Awards Ceremony

Underwater ‘Assistant,’ Asteroid Analysis, Beam Losses, Rocket Building Win Northrop Grumman, President's Cup Prizes

MELBOURNE, FLA. — Projects involving a remotely-operated underwater sled, the design and building of a powerful rocket, the analysis of hundreds of photos of the asteroid Bennu and a look at the possible causes of disruptions to proton beams at the Large Hadron Collider each won a top prize at this year’s 14th annual Northrop Grumman Engineering and Science Student Design Showcase.

More than 100 projects across multiple science and engineering disciplines were on display at Florida Tech’s annual showcase, and judges had the challenge of choosing the top ones.

“It was so hard to pick the best teams,” John Harris, dean of the College of Engineering and Science, said at the awards ceremony. This was Harris’s first showcase since coming to Florida Tech last July. “I was so impressed by all of the projects.”

Interim President Robert King had just returned from the renowned Space Symposium in Colorado, where he spoke to senior executives and military leaders about what they will need in a future workforce. He said at the awards ceremony that the projects at the showcase are a strong reminder that Florida Tech students will be ready for those jobs.

“I can assure you that every one of you in this room is somebody they want,” he said, congratulating the students for their work and overall success. “You inspire me, and I am just delighted to be here. I look forward to the winners.”

Here’s a look at the results.

President’s Cup Award:

  • Engineering: “R3MORA: Remotely Operated 3D-Printed Mission Oriented Research Assistant,” Parker Baillon, Suzie Dixon, Katlynd Faust, Payton Herman, Harpoon Seabring (Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences)

Northrop Grumman Best in Show:

  • Engineering: “BiPROP- Liquid Rocket Competition Team,” C. Bosworth, E. Brackett, H. Bryant, T. Bullock, N. Cerletty, A. Ivarson, B. Lopes, C. Mickel, A. O’Connor, J. Smith, A.Tisaranni (Aerospace, Physics and Space Sciences)

Best in Show category winners:

Honors College: “ExoArm,” Samantha Sequeira, Mohammed Fahad M Aba Alkhayl, Holly Grant, Catrina McCoy (Biomedical and Chemical Engineering and Sciences)

Aerospace: “Biofuel: Research of Methods to Decrease Emissions in Jet Engines,” Rebecca Palmer, David Moony, Brandon Naumann, Zac Davenport, Wenxi Liu, Caleb Webb, Shane Webb (Aerospace, Physics and Space Sciences)

Biomedical Engineering: “Echolynx: Wireless Electrolarynx Speech Aid,” Benjamin Diaz, Rachel Lee, Luis Cuadros Lamas, Catherine Caicedo, Autumn Monsees (Biomedical and Chemical Engineering and Sciences)

Biological Sciences: “Disease-associated mutation in Tau causes neurodevelopmental defects,” Caylin Lepak, Lillian Beaver (Biomedical and Chemical Engineering and Sciences)

Chemical Engineering and Sciences: “Green Propylene Oxide Production via Cumene Oxidation,” Adli Sullivan, Savannah Grimes, Olivia Baldino (Biomedical and Chemical Engineering and Sciences)

Computer Science and Software Engineering: “Automated Drone Navigation with Cognitive Architecture,” Patrycja Bachleda, Michael Gourdine, Richard Diaz, Chinedum Ajabor (Computer Engineering and Sciences)

Civil Engineering and Construction Management: “Sustainable Community by A-Team Design and Build LLC,” Alexis Hensley, Austyn Rueter, Christian Perez, Gavin Olson, Nathan Davis, Nick Cannetti (Mechanical and Civil Engineering)

Electrical and Computer Engineering: “Electric Vehicle (S.T.E.V.E.),” Thomas Francis, William Burk, Mitchell Sales, Whitney Ellis, Adrianna Agustín, Bryce Fowler, Arianna Issit, Jonathan Kinkopf, Matthew Delgado, Jiwoo Jeong (Computer Engineering and Sciences)

Mechanical Engineering: “PLA-S-TECH: PLA Sustainable Technology,” Sean Sapper, Ryan DeCarlo, Elliot Whitney, Samantha Dombrowski, Dalton Prokop, Dominic Zaio, Tyler Stokes, David Deese, Blake Hengel, Yi Guo (Mechanical and Civil Engineering)

Mathematical Sciences: “Testing the Relativistic-Microwave Theory of Ball Lightning with Plasma Simulations,” Amanda Elliott (Mathematical Sciences)

Ocean Engineering: “R3MORA: Remotely Operated 3D Printed Mission Oriented Research Assistant,” Parker Baillon, Suzie Dixon, Katlynd Faust, Payton Herman, Harpoon Seabring (Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences)

Oceanography/Environmental Sciences/Meteorology/Marine Biology: “Exploring the Role of the Diurnal Cycle of Solar Radiation on Precipitation Over the Maritime Continent,” Jenelle A. Edwards (Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences)

Physics and Space Sciences: “Electrostatic Dust Lofting: A Possible Cause for Beam Losses at CERN’s LHC,” Amanda Elliott (Aerospace, Physics and Space Sciences)

Sustainability: “Ordinance Development, Grant Writing and Outreach to Advance Sustainability in the Town of Melbourne Beach, FL,” Reese C. Johnson (Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences)

Show More
Back to top button