University Team Places First in Hybrid Rocket Competition

MELBOURNE, FLA.—The Florida Institute of Technology Student Rocket Society’s high altitude team took first place in the “maximum altitude” category in the Fifth Annual Hybrid Rocket Competition held recently in Bunnell, Fla. The team brought home $500 for their first-place win after they beat nine other teams from the University of Florida, University of Central Florida, University of Miami and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. This first place win for Florida Tech is their fourth in the competition.

The society’s precision altitude team brought home $350 for their part in the competition. While they did not place, they were the only competing team in the “closest to 2,000 feet” category that flew and successfully recovered their vehicle.

Sponsored by the Florida Space Grant Consortium, Florida Space Institute and the North East Florida Association of Rocketry, the competition gives university and community college students across Florida an opportunity to build and launch hybrid-powered rockets.

The team’s faculty adviser is Greg Peebles, director of the office of environmental and regulatory compliance. The high altitude team was led by society president and sophomore Joe Bussenger. Members included sophomores Nathan Higgins, Joshua Camara and Christopher Jarry; freshmen Eryk Lorenz-Kruk, Dan Purdy, Chad Harvey, Milen Womack, Jordan Senatore, Lucas Worthen and Chris Hansen. The precision altitude team was led by society vice-president and sophomore Jake Kapfhamer. Members included juniors Anna Hallahan and Kevin Beaudoin; sophomores Akshay Lala, Brian Thai, Kiel Bath, Antoine Joist and Zach Hall; freshmen Matt Levy, Brendan Newcott, Joseph Torkaman, Phil Monougiam, Matt Doherty and Marc Salvodori.

Show More
Back to top button