Faculty Earn Development Grants

Ten Florida Tech faculty members have been awarded Faculty Professional Development Grants of between $500 and $2,500 each. The grants program provides
opportunities for Florida Tech faculty to enrich their teaching and professional development through participation in technology-related projects and

The 2005-2006 recipients are:
Sharon Ainsley, information technology, “Handheld Computing Learning Enhancement Initiative”
Dr. Deborah Carstens, College of Business assistant professor, “Usability Testing Study”
Nicole Hoier, information technology, “Digital Perspectives-Creating Professional Visuals”
Dr. Elizabeth Irlandi-Hyatt, assistant professor of oceanography, “Incorporation of Mobile Geographic Information and Global Positioning Systems into
Coastal Resource Management Research and Education”
Mary Mullins, instructor of humanities and communication, “Proposal for Funds to Use as Technological Support for a New Course.”
Dr. Joel Olson, assistant professor of chemistry, “Continued Development of General Chemistry Demonstrations and Ancillary Information”
Dr. Niescja Turner, assistant professor of physics and space sciences, “3D Visualization of Space Science Topics”
Dr. Kurt Winkelmann, assistant professor of chemistry, and Dr. Clayton Baum, associate professor of chemistry, “Improving Instructional Quality in the
Physical Chemistry Lab”
Dr. Stephen Wood, assistant professor of ocean engineering, “Autonomous Buoy Mobile”

The Academic Information Technology Committee (ACITC) makes the awards after considering proposals in several categories. These include development of
on-line course or technology-based instructional materials, participation in information technology-related conferences, on-campus seminars and guest
speakers, and hardware and software purchase.

Show More
Back to top button