Florida Tech Presents Presidents Medal to Senator Haridopolos

MELBOURNE, Fla.—Florida Institute of Technology presented its most prestigious award, the President’s Medal, to Florida Senator, District 26, Mike Haridopolos at the fall commencement in December. Haridopolos became a member of the Florida Senate in March 2003, was re-elected in 2006 and became president of the Florida Senate in November 2010.

The senator is a co-founder of the Freedom Caucus that led the fight against tax increases. Each year before the Florida Legislature convenes, he signs the Americans for Tax Reform’s Taxpayer Protection Pledge to oppose the vote against efforts to increase taxes.

He serves as chair of the Senate Committee on Energy, Environment and Land Use and the Senate Committee on Reapportionment. In addition, he sits on such committees as Social Responsibility, Ways and Means, Communications, Energy and public utilities, Health and Human Services Appropriations, Judiciary, Transportation and the Select Committee on Florida’s Economy.

Haridopolos graduated from Stetson University in 1992 with a bachelor’s degree in history; he earned a master’s degree at the University of Arkansas in 1993. He currently is a lecturer at the Bob Graham Center for Public Service at the University of Florida.

The President’s Medal acknowledges individuals who have provided superior service, support and dedication to the university. There have been only 14 others honored with the medal to date.

Show More
Back to top button