Distinguished Lecturer Series

William C. Potter, a retired partner in the law firm of Holland & Knight, LLP, will be the speaker at the fall semester Distinguished Lecturer Series
on Monday November 7 at 7:30 a.m. in the John T. & Martha Hartley Room in the Denius Student Center. The series is sponsored by the Florida Tech
College of Business. A complimentary breakfast will be served. Guests are requested to R.S.V.P. by Thursday November 3 to (321) 674-7347. The Distinguished
Lecturer Series is designed to enhance communications between successful executives and students interested in the management practices of public and
private enterprises. Mr. Potter served as head of the Rule of Law Department in the Office of the High Representative (OHR) in Sarajevo, Bosnia and
Herzegovina from August 2002 until January 2005. In that capacity he was in charge of all rule of law activities of OHR in its efforts to implement the
Dayton Peace Agreement. That position required him to supervise and manage more than 200 judges, lawyers and criminal investigators from more than 15
countries. The activities of the Rule of Law Department during that period included drafting and enacting most of the primary legal codes of the country;
the complete restructuring of the court system; removing and reselecting judicial and prosecutorial personnel throughout the country; and the restructuring
of the police throughout the country. In addition, the department included two units of lawyers and criminal investigators dedicated to investigating and
prosecuting organized crime and corruption. Mr. Potter worked closely with the High Representative Lord Paddy Ashdown as well as all of the senior
government officials in Bosnia and Herzegovina, ambassadors of many countries and representatives of various international organizations. The Distinguished
Lecturer Series has featured such prominent speakers as Norman Augustine, chairman of the board of Lockheed Martin Corporation; Wendy’s founder Dave
Thomas; Phillip W. Farmer, president of Harris Corporation; Martin R. Shugrue, Jr., then-appointed trustee of Eastern Airlines, Inc.; Kent Kresa, chairman,
president and chief executive officer of Northrop Grumman Corporation; Laurent Beaudoin, chairman of the board, president and chief executive officer of
State Farm Insurance Company; Robert F. Ellsworth, consultant to the Office of the Secretary of Defense; Mark C. Hollis, vice chairman of Publix
Supermarkets, Inc.; Martha Barnett, partner, Holland & Knight; General Robert T. Herres, chair and chief executive officer, USAA; Karen Katen,
president of Pfizer U.S. Pharmaceuticals; Patrick Rodgers, chief compliance officer for the 2000-2003 Olympics; and Yasuji Yasuharu Wakura, chief executive
officer, Asahi Group of Japan.

Show More
Back to top button