Faculty and Staff Earn Development Grants

MELBOURNE, FLA.—Seven Florida Institute of Technology faculty and staff members have been awarded Faculty Professional Development Grants of up to $2,500 each for hardware and software purchases and student support. Each year, Florida Tech’s Academic Information Technology Committee (ACITC) grants program provides opportunities for Florida Tech faculty to enrich their teaching and professional development through participation in technology-related projects and travel. The 2010 recipients are:

Mark Bush, College of Science, Department of Biological Sciences:
“Spanish Language Podcasts for Undergraduate Recruitment to Biology”

Taeyoung Lee, College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: “Development of an Autonomous Quadrotor UAV for Educational Research”

Ada Harvey, College of Psychology and Liberal Arts, School of Psychology: “Computerized Data Collection Systems: Training and Implementation for Applied Behavior Analysis and Clinical Psychology Intensive Practical Training Students”

Vanessa Edkins, College of Psychology and Liberal Arts, School of Psychology: “Sona-Systems Implementation”

J. Clayton Baum, College of Science, Department of Chemistry: “Computer-aided Molecular Modeling Across Campus”

Korhan Oyman, College of Aeronautics: “Creating a Virtual Flight Training Environment for Undergraduate Flight Students by Interfacing Desktop Flight Simulators and an Air Traffic Control Simulator”

Jim Gering, College of Science, Department of Physics and Space Sciences:

“Video Physics Demonstrations”

This year, ACITC received 17 proposals. Recipients were selected, primarily, based on the degree of integration of technology-based instructional materials, project innovation, interdisciplinary collaboration and student participation. The awarded grants represent a diverse constituency across all academic programs.

Show More
Back to top button