11 Students Win Awards at Florida Academy of Sciences Meeting

Eleven students from Florida Tech were awarded for outstanding presentations at the 85th Annual Meeting of the Florida Academy of Sciences. The event was held virtually on March 11.

There were a total of 34 student winners from multiple Florida universities. Offering either oral or poster presentations, the Florida Tech students won in a variety of categories.

In Atmospheric and Oceanographic Sciences, winners were:

Kailey Richard: Assessing the impact of UVC application on the biofilm forming diatom Navicula incerta

Sean Crowley: Evaluating the efficacy of restoration efforts: baseline monitoring of benthic communities

Margaret Giggie: Comparing the efficacy of a mercury UVC lamp to UVC-emitting LEDs for biofouling prevention

In Biological Sciences, winners were:

Manav Agarwal: Polyandry and Inheritance of Adaptive Immune Genes in Sandbar Sharks (Carcharhinus plumbeus)

Tessa Morgan: Is blood thicker than water? Relatedness and kinship in Bull Sharks (Carcharhinus leucas)

Irene Vicente Larena: DVLO Theory to explain α-synuclein aggregation process

In Engineering, winners were:

Al Ibtida Sultana: Enhanced carbon dioxide capture using porous superactivated-hydrochars derived from deep eutectic solvents pretreated loblolly-pine

Harpoon Seabring: Design of a Scissor Lift Tool for UVC Application on Marine Ship Hull Coatings

Muzammil M.N. Ahmed: Electrochemical detection of Cd 2+ at nanoelectrodes in environmental samples

In Medical Sciences, winners were:

Noel Manring: Electrodeposition of neurotransmitters onto carbon-fiber microelectrodes to enhance Cu2+ detection with fast-scan cyclic voltammetry

Sarah Ali: Species-based differences in mechanical properties and cytocompatibility of methacrylated collagen hydrogels

The Florida Academy of Sciences is headquartered on the Florida Tech campus.

Show More
Back to top button