Aruban Education Leaders Visit, Agree to Future Cooperation

Florida Tech has entered into a non-binding Memorandum of Understanding with Aruba’s Ministry of Education and Sports to discuss and explore multiple areas for future cooperation, including in the fields of applied technology, STEM and research, as well as student transfers, academic exchanges and more.

Florida Tech has also agreed to offer four-year annual tuition scholarships to five Aruban students who meet the school’s admission standards.

The agreement, signed by Florida Tech President John Nicklow and Endy Croes, Aruba’s minister of education and sports, also calls for closer relationships between Florida Tech and the country of Aruba, as well as its University of Aruba and the sports and education ministry.

Florida Tech Provost Hamid Rassoul and Aruba’s Department of Education Director Anne Marie Proveyer-Groot have been appointed to monitor and oversee the agreement.

The June 30 signing was preceded by a campus visit and tour involving Endy Croes as well as Joselin Croes, Aruba’s minister plenipotentiary for Aruba in the USA, and Viola Heutger, Ph.D., rector of the University of Aruba. The Aruban delegation met initially with Rassoul, College of Engineering and Science Dean John Harris, Athletics Director Jamie Joss, Vice President for Enrollment Management Brian Ehrlich and Vice President for External Affairs Wes Sumner. President Nicklow joined a bit later for the signing.

Show More
Back to top button